Skip to content

Week 9 – GTD – Getting Things Done – Part 1

Week 9 – GTD – Getting Things Done – Part 1

“Day 092/366 – To Do List” by Great Beyond is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0

Your toughest work is defining what your work is! –  Peter Drucker

SUMMARY

I start the day at 5 and go for a run, then I do school work and then attend school. After school, I go to the gym ( unless I have football that day ) go for a drive, and end the day with Drivers Ed and some videogames.

PRACTICE ROOM (TUTORIALS)

Image of David Allen at TED Talk
Screenshot from David Allen TED Talk

STEP 1: MAKE A LIST

Screenshot of David Allen TED Talk

Screenshot of David Allen TED Talk

– Get all algebra 2 homework done
– finish science project
– read act 3 of The Tempest
– practice guitar
-finish geometry semester 1
-find out what I need to do in school of rock
– finish book

STEP 2: NOTICE WHAT YOU NOTICED

Screenshot of David Allen TED Talk
Screenshot of David Allen TED Talk-finish geometry semester 1
– get algebra 2 homework done
– find out what needs to be done in School of Rock
– finish science project
– read act 3 of The Tempest
– practice guitar
– finish book

STEP 3: SET A TIMER

https://giphy.com/gifs/time-clock-konczakowski-d3yxg15kJppJilnW

OUTSIDE (PRODUCTIVITY & THE BRAIN)

David Allen image
Oct. 2020 Lucidchart interview with David Allen
Image from FastCompany Magazine, https://www.fastcompany.com/3026827/the-brain-hacks-top-founders-use-to-get-the-job-done
Image from FastCompany Magazine, https://www.fastcompany.com/3026827/the-brain-hacks-top-founders-use-to-get-the-job-done

Reflecting on the GTD process, It is quite a chance. It’s weird trying to force yourself to focus on one thing for a set amount of time. Usually, I do my school work while I watch tv or text my friends but it does allow me to go from taking 45 minutes to do my geometry homework to only 25 minutes. I also like the fact you get small breaks to make sure you don’t feel so burnt out. I don’t know if I am gonna adopt the whole system because that’s just such a drastic change from what I’m used to but I will use some ideas from it like forcing yourself to focus and take much smaller breaks.

OPTIONAL EXERCISE – Literally, read the article and go for another walk 🙂

 Katia Verresen homepage
Katia Verresen, kvaleadership.com

WHAT I LEARNED and PROBLEMS I SOLVED

Some things I’ve learned from this experience is how to get things done faster, I found that I get things done almost twice as fast when I step a timer and force myself to focus. That actually was a big problem that I faced, my mind just kept wanting to check my phone or emails or anything else but what I did to combat that was just forcing myself to focus and continuously going, “ok Jaden, just keep on going, you only got ( x amount of time ) left.”

WEEKLY ACTIVITY EVALUATION

I thought this activity was good. I learned a lot from it.

Published inUncategorized

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar