Skip to content

School of Rock – Day 6 – Bass Basics

School of Rock – Day 6 – Bass Basics

SUMMARY

Today was very engaging, it took me a little longer for me to get it done today than usual because I learned a lot.

CLASSROOM

How Bass Works

  • Base gives a deeper feeling to music
  • Tonality is a catch-all term to describe the package that separated western music from all music around the world
  • The tonic chord is the home cord
  • The tonic chord is usually the bottom cord and the bottom cord is called the root note
  • Base is one octave lower than the rest of the song
  • Double bases shadow the rest of the song but can change the feel completely
  • Independent bases created us scales
  • The chromatic scale gives a darker feeling to the song

LAB

How to write Chromatic Notes in Hookpad

screenshot from HookTab

3 ways to use Hookpad’s MIDI drag-drop feature 

Screenshot from HookLab

The hook pad activities aren’t the most exciting so this one by no surprise wasn’t that fun. I did learn how to drop midi files into hook pad which will be the highlight of my day.

PRACTICE ROOM

Screenshot from Tomas Michaud video

Both exercises are kinda hard ( I did both just so I can get this base stuff to stick in my head ), I’m still kind of a new at the guitar, I do like Thomas Michaud’s base patterns because there easy to play when you get the hang of it and they sound good.

Profile in Excellence

Screenshot from Polyphonic at YouTube

Profile in Excellence

Image from Wikipedia

LifeScreenshot from Vulf at YouTube

OUTSIDE / JOURNAL / IDEAS

Choice 1: Explore Carol Kaye and James Jamerson’s Pr

Carol Kaye has to be hands down one of the greatest musicians of all time, she has done over 10,000 recordings and has made countless hits. James Jamerson is also a legend. Some of my favorite songs from the 70’s he played the bass in, like Ain’t no mountain high enough.

STUDIO

Screenshot from Kidsguitarzone.com

I just messed around a little bit, I made a little rift that when 00, 03, 33, 35, 55, 53, 33, 00

CONTROL ROOM

For some reason when I was recording, no sound was actually being recorded. It would have the audio clip but there was nothing in it. So the recording did not work for me today.

WHAT I LEARNED and PROBLEMS I SOLVED

Long story short I learned a lot about Bass. I think Carol Kaye and James Jamerson’s stories are really cool. I ran into a problem with recording but that’s fine.

Content (The WHAT)

Rating: OK  – 1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5  – HIGHLY ENGAGED

Rating:3

I found the Profile in excellence part really cool but everything else was kinda boring, I get it’s just the B.S we have to learn now so I wouldn’t change anything about it.

Process (The HOW)

Rating: OK  – 1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5  – HIGHLY ENGAGED

Rating: 3

Same answer as above, I liked the Profile in excellence really interesting but I found everything else kinda boring but I wouldn’t change it because we have to learn this stuff.

Published inUncategorized

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar